The Independent Professional Baseball Federation is an association of the four longest-running Independent Leagues, the American Association, Atlantic League, Can-Am League, and Frontier League.  The IPBF was created to coordinate marketing and baseball operations between the four leagues.  The IPBF endorsement demonstrates the strength, tenure, and strong business operations of these leagues.

The four leagues have a played a combined 70 seasons.  The Frontier League began play in 1993, followed by the Atlantic League in 1998, the Can-Am League in 2005, and the American Association in 2006.   

The leagues currently include 38 members in 18 states and three Canadian provinces.  Our markets include the suburbs of Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Minneapolis, New York, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, St. Louis, and Washington along with traditional minor league markets. The four leagues combine to average over 6 million fans per season.

Over 170 players from the four IPBF leagues have advanced to Major League Baseball, 22 of whom made their professional debuts in IPBF leagues.  Five former IBFL players have been selected Major League Baseball All-Stars (Aaron Crowe, Steve Delabar, Brendan Donnelly, Max Scherzer, and George Sherrill).

In addition to players, three MLB umpires began their professional careers in IPBF leagues – Tripp Gibson (Frontier League), Adam Humari (Can-Am League), and Will Little (Can-Am League).  Broadcasters have also moved to Major League positions.  The Houston Astros’ radio play-by-play voice Robert Ford, for whom the Frontier League’s Broadcaster of the Year Award is named, began his career with the Kalamazoo Kings.  Aaron Goldsmith, radio voice of the Seattle Mariners, started with the Gateway Grizzlies, and the Chicago White Sox television play-by-play announcer, Jason Benetti, began just down the street calling games for the Frontier League’s Windy City ThunderBolts.  Former New Jersey Jackals (Can-Am League) announcer Kevin Burkhardt now calls NFL games for Fox while serving as the studio host for MLB regular and postseason games on Fox and FS1.

Dozens of players and staff have moved to key positions in MLB front offices.  Oakland Athletics’ general manager David Forst, Miami Marlins’ assistant general manager Brian Chattin, and Los Angeles Angels’ director of international scouting Carlos Gomez all game out of the Frontier League.  Other FL alumni in key positions with MLB organizations include Oakland Athletics’ hitting coach Darren Bush, Chicago Cubs’ assistant MLB hitting coach Andy Haines, Houston Astros’ assistant MLB hitting coach Jeff Albert, and Oakland Athletics’ Triple-A manager Fran Riordan.

The four leagues have developed 33 new ballparks for Independent Baseball along with overseeing renovations to classic ballparks such as Evansville’s Bosse Field (the 3rd oldest stadium in professional baseball, celebrating its 100th birthday in 2015) and Quebec’s Le Stade Municipal (opened in 1939). 

The IPBF leagues are characterized by stable and experienced leadership.  Each of the league Commissioners/Presidents has run an Independent League for at least the past 20 years and have an average tenure of over 40 years in baseball. 

American Assoicionat Atlantic League

American Association
Address: 935 37th Avenue S., Suite 128
Moorhead, MN 56560
: 218-359-3599
Commissioner: Josh Schaub
Executive Director: Josh Buchholz

Atlantic League
Address: P.O. Box 5190,
Lancaster, PA 17606 
Phone: 720-389-6992
CEO: Frank Boulton
President: Rick White

  Can-Am League   Frontier League  
  Can-Am League
Address: 1415 Hwy. 54 West, Suite 210
Durham, NC 27707
Phone: 919-401-8150
Fax: 919-401-8152
Commissioner: Miles Wolff

Frontier League
Address: 2041 Goose Lake Road, Suite 2A
Sauget, Illinois 62206
Phone: 618-215-4134
Fax: 708-286-6481
Commissioner: Bill Lee
Deputy Commissioner: Steve Tahsler